New York Fashion Week Spring 2013: Friday and Saturday Re-Cap

I’ve “print-screened” some images from the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week LiveRunway on YouTube these past couple days as highlighted below. Blue has continued to be a dominant color for the Spring 2013 collections, particularly that cerulean shade I mentioned in my opening-day post. Crop-tops and high-waists seem to run consistently through every designer’s collection (time to get in shape!). And this also indicates we’re having a very ’90sClueless” moment for Spring 2013. There has also been quite the unique showing of various prints. I love prints in clothing, so I am totally cool with this development. In relation to the prints (and hair trends), ombre prints (meaning the print either fades out or fades in toward the bottom of the fabric) are appearing. Rebecca Minkoff in particular showed this trend off well. See-through and cut-outs are also trending…another reason to get in shape. And jumpsuits are SO back. I dare say I haven’t seen a collection without them. This is definitely a hard trend to pull off and relies 100% on your body type and confidence!

Overall, the Mara Hoffman Hawaiian themed collection threw me off…but I guess there’s a place in the market for everything. I would totally buy that “Aloha” blouse though!

The Monique Lhuillier gowns were particularly stunning. No doubt we will be seeing those on the red carpet very soon.

Jill Stuart‘s collection was my favorite overall. It had a lot of great neutrals but also pretty feminine prints.

Fifty Shades of Grey seems to be influencing the heavy amount of leather and general straps/halters/thick belts we’re seeing trending. The Herve Leger collection was a good example of this.

Below are highlights I pulled from the shows I caught. All images were taken from youtube.com/liverunway.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What do you think of the developing trends?

Best,

Lulu

 

Leave a Reply

