DIY: Homemade Halloween Party Invitations

Halloween is by far my favorite holiday of the year. I made my husband promise that Halloween will forevermore be “our holiday,” meaning friends and family can expect a scary good time at our haunted shack annually. Because we are new to the “homemaking” life, it has been fun the past two seasons to collect the decorations that WE want to feature for our big holiday. It’s also been a blast finding all of the DIY projects and recipes that go with Halloween. I think it’s my favorite holiday because of the creative expression that you must be able to handle in order to enjoy the day. I THRIVE in creative settings so for me, there couldn’t be anything better.

So our vision is to increasingly make our annual party more “epic” (you should hear our unrealistic visions of what future parties look like). Last year was our first party hosted by just the two of us. We were so focused on the food and beverage side, that we didn’t figure out our costumes until the day of (epic fail). We sent out an Evite and had decent response. But come the day of, the tri-state area got hit with a massive snow storm! Yep, we ended up with only 6 (extremely dedicated) attendees. But our food and beverages were a hit 😀

To set the mood for our first party hosted in California (and to take it up a notch from Evite), I’ve spent some time creating a homemade invitation. It may be a similarly small turnout due to our lack of friends in the area, but darnit, it’s going to one-up last year!

I picked up a variety of supplies at Michaels with the big purchase being a Martha Stewart “Punch Around the Page” set for creating a cobweb edge around my invitation (with the help of a 20% off coupon for Martha’s products!). Though still crafty, the precision of the final outcome creates a very expensive feeling that allows the invite to look more like an adult project than a kids craft assignment. Below you can see all of the supplies I purchased:

After cutting out 5×8.5 rectangles of black construction paper (which is still standard postage cost), I began punching the edges with Martha’s tool. The first tool is used to punch each corner. As you can see in the photo below, an edge pulls out on both sides to help you align your corner precisely.

After each corner has been cut, you use Martha’s second tool to do the edges in between the corners. There are drawings on the extended edges of the tool that allow you to precisely line up the pattern so that it is consistent and accurate. I used a similar tool in snowflakes for my wedding invitations, so I’ve gotten used to the technique! The image below shows that step:

Once my base was prepared, I was able to figure out what I wanted to do with my remaining supplies. I picked up two sheets of sparkly purple 12×12 paper and cut them into 1×12 inch strips. I then cut off about 4 inches of each strip so I had one long and one short strip to use. The long end became a nice frame for the right side of my paper, and the short end framed the left side. This gave the invitations the cooky feeling necessary for Halloween. Using glue sticks, I attached the strips as seen below:

Michaels had a pack of 8.5×11 distressed looking paper in 5 bright colors. I really wanted to use a bright green with the purple but decided classic orange was still appropriate as well. This allowed me to make half of the invitations with one look and half with another, a nice surprise for the guests. After cutting the paper into rectangles appropriately sized to fit into my invitation, I hand-wrote the details with an ink pen (you can always opt to print from the computer to save time or if you aren’t sure about your handwriting). Combining a few ideas I found online, I came up with the following wording:

We’re having a party
You’re in for a scare
It’s a Halloween bash
So dress up if you dare!

Saturday, October 27th
The Witching Hour: 8pm
Our Haunted Beach Shack

Your Ghosts:
Lulu and DP

We’re DYING to hear from you…

After writing each one out, I stamped the base with either a pumpkin (orange paper) or witch (green paper) and added a bat sticker to the corner. I like adding 3D effects to paper-goods to give them a more unique quality. Once that was all said and done, I used super glue (it was the best I had) to glue the paper to the sparkly tabs (glue sticks would not work on sparkles). And there you have it:

Today I was able to pick up 5.5×8.5 envelopes at Staples. If you have more time or are willing to spend more money, I would suggest using Paper Presentation, a site I used for all of my custom wedding stationary envelopes! I created about 25 invitations and wouldn’t suggest doing too many more unless you have friends/family ready to help!

TIP: If you don’t have Michaels’ weekly mailer with you, pull up their coupons on a smart phone. They will scan them at the register.

Anyone else getting totally stoked about Halloween?!

Best,

Lulu

PS Don’t show up to my house on October 27th 😉

4 thoughts on “DIY: Homemade Halloween Party Invitations

  1. Hi Lulu!

    My name is Lauren Wolfson and I work at Care.com, a website that connects families with great nannies and babysitters. We have a lot of helpful articles on our site and we’re putting together a roundup of Halloween Party Invitations this Fall. I’m a big fan of your blog and would love to feature your Halloween Party Invitations (https://luluswanderlust.wordpress.com/2012/09/07/diy-homemade-halloween-party-invitations/) in the roundup. Would that be okay? We would of course link to your blog, sending lots of traffic your way!

    We did a similar roundup for Summer Crafts for Kids this year. It would be this same format:
    http://www.care.com/child-care-62-summer-crafts-for-kids-p1017-q30457360.html

    As you can see, we also used a few images of the crafts throughout the previous roundup. We’d like to do the same thing with this Halloween Party Invitations article. Would it be okay if we used the image of the summer craft from your site in our article?

    Please let me know if you have any questions at all!
    Best,
    Lauren

Leave a Reply

